Benny Andersson - Piano (Limited Edition Gold Vinyl)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 028948620609
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Swedish composer and ABBA co-founder Benny Andersson has released his new album Piano through the iconic classical music label Deutsche Grammophon.

Piano takes listeners on a 21-track journey through his acclaimed and celebrated career as songs from ABBA, his musicals and other solo-compositions are re-interpreted, performing them unaccompanied on his trusted grand piano. The album was recorded with Linn Fijal, engineer and studio manager at his own RMV Studios, on the island of Skeppsholmen, in the heart of his hometown Stockholm.

The tracks are tender, touching and emotional arrangements, highlighting the theatrical, as well as classical-like qualities, both in writing and performance of music that has touched millions around the world since ABBA first came together in 1972. The music on this album reinforces Benny's profound gift for melody, a gift shared with many great classical composer-pianists throughout history, that have also inspired him throughout his life and career.

Speaking on the genesis of the album, Benny Andersson said: "In the process of recording this album, I have come to realize that the pieces I have chosen to play are an integral part of me. In endeavoring to reach for some core within them, I have found that the more I strip away the clothing, the closer I feel to the music, regardless of whether it was created last year or 40 years ago. In a strange way, I feel like I am playing my memoirs."

"It was very different to how I've made records in the past, and that was part of the joyfulness of it all," he adds, "Even without the bass, drums, guitars, strings and vocals on these songs, I think there is still substance in all of them. That was very pleasing to realize."

Limited Edition audiophile GOLD double vinyl produced by Deutsche Grammophon in 2021.



1. I Let The Music Speak
2. You And I
3. Aldrig
4. Thank You For The Music
5. Stockholm By Night


1. Chess
2. The Day Before You Came
3. Someone Else's Story
4. Midnattsdans
5. Malarskolan


1. I Wonder (Departure)
2. Embassy Lament
3. Anthem
4. My Love, My Life
5. Mountain Duet


1. Flickornas Rum
2. Efter Regnet
3. Trostevisa
4. En Skrift I Snon
5. Happy New Year
6. I Gott Bevar

0 stars based on 0 reviews