Pogues - If I Should Fall From Grace With God

UPC: 825646255887
Availability: OUT OF STOCK

In his opening essay for the reissue of The Pogues’ acclaimed 1984 debut album Red Roses For Me, filmmaker Jim Jarmusch calls them, “'definitely one of the most soulful rock bands Britain has ever produced',” adding, “'But The Pogues aren’t just a punk band, or a soul group, or an “Irish” band rooted in a folk tradition. They’'re all those things and a hell of a lot more.' ”Formed in 1982 in King’s Cross in north London, they called themselves Pogue Mahone when they first started out, an anglification of a Gaelic phrase meaning “kiss my arse.”

Fronted by the poetic spirit and raging, often besotted stage antics of lead singer-songwriter Shane MacGowan, The Pogues made unforgettable music that terms such as “Celtic punk” or “trad-fusion” or “progressive folk” indeed only begin to describe.

If I Should Fall from Grace with God is the third album by Irish folk-punk band The Pogues, released on January 18, 1988. Released in the wake of their biggest hit single, "Fairytale of New York", If I Should Fall from Grace with God also became the band's best-selling album. Other standouts include "The Broad Majestic Shannon", "“Bottle Of Smoke",” and the politicized "“Birmingham Six".”

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Rhino Records in 2015. Remastered from the original analog tapes.



1. If I Should Fall From Grace With God
2. Turkish Song of The Damned
3. Bottle of Smoke
4. Fairytale of New York
5. Metropolis
6. Thousands Are Sailing


1. Fiesta
2. Medley
3. Streets of Sorrow/Birmingham Six
4. Lullaby of London
5. Sit Down By the Fire
6. The Broad Majestic Shannon
7. Worms

0 stars based on 0 reviews