Sufjan Stevens / Angelo De Augustine - A Beginner's Mind


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 729920164981
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

It's been said that writing about music is like dancing about architecture (impossible and absurd). What about singing about movies? Sufjan Stevens and Angelo de Augustine have paired up for a collaborative project that does just that. A Beginner's Mind is their debut album that contains 14 songs (loosely) based on (mostly) popular films.

The source material is highbrow, lowbrow, and everything in between. The music is folksy, sweet, sincere and harmonically effervescent-Simon & Garfunkel with New Age flourishes. This album runs the gamut and has fun with it, even while it's songwriters remain fully rooted in the melancholy folk idioms they are known for.

Daniel Anum Jasper, a pioneer of Ghanian movie poster painting, was commissioned to paint a series of new works for A Beginner's Mind. His paintings are a graphic simulacrum for the same sense of wonder, wordplay, and intrigue that shape A Beginner's Mind. By transforming old films into vital new songs, Stevens and de Augustine ask us to consider ourselves from a previously unconsidered vantage point-a new way of seeing and hearing-an exercise that's as necessary and relevant now as it's ever been.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Asthmatic Kitty Records in 2021.


  1. Reach Out
  2. Lady Macbeth In Chains
  3. Back To Oz
  4. The Pillar Of Souls
  5. You Give Death A Bad Name
  6. Beginner’s Mind
  7. Olympus
  8. Murder And Crime
  9. (This Is) The Thing
  10. It’s Your Own Body and Mind
  11. Lost In The World
  12. Fictional California
  13. Cimmerian Shade
  14. Lacrimae
0 stars based on 0 reviews