13th Floor Elevators - 13 of the Best of The 13th Floor Elevators (Red Vinyl)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 5060767444085
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

This compilation launches a new phase in the 13th Floor Elevators catalog and previews the forthcoming series The Quest for Pure Sanity: the release in optimal quality of all surviving source material for all of the band's recordings. 13 of the Best has been mastered separately for vinyl for the best possible sound quality.

Each original source has been referenced to the earliest vinyl pressing and meticulously transferred at 96khz 24- bit resolution. Multitrack tapes of the original recording sessions have been newly mixed in strict accordance with the records as first released.

"You're Gonna Miss Me," the band's seminal single, is presented here for the first time in true stereo. Taken from the original multitrack session tape, the song has been mixed to stereo in accordance with the iconic mono 45 as recorded and engineered by Walt Andrus.

"Slip Inside This House," viewed by fans and critics alike as the Elevators' masterpiece and one of the key psychedelic recordings of the era, is included on the LP as the edited mono single mix, so the loudest possible cut can be achieved.

"Never Another," '"Dr Doom" and "Livin' On" from the band's final sessions have been newly mixed but without the overdubs added almost a year after recording. While the session tapes survive, the overdubs do not. "Livin' On" features Roky Erickson's original superior vocal performance instead of the overdub used on the Bull of the Woods LP. What is uniquely presented here is 100% Elevators as mixed and intended for the LP. No embellishments!

13 of the Best is produced by 13th Floor Elevators official archivist and historian Paul Drummond who has also written sleeve notes with full track-by-track information. The author of Eye Mind (2007) the exhaustive and definitive biography of the 13th Floor Elevators and 13th Floor Elevators: A Visual History (2020) Drummond has spent a lifetime documenting every aspect of Elevators history, amassing an unprecedented archive of original material and memorabilia in conjunction with the band members.

Limited Edition RED vinyl produced by Charly Acquisitions in 2023. Audio Mastering & Sound Engineering by Max Quirk for Cutsville Mastering. Produced by Official Archivist & Historian Paul Drummond. Heavyweight PVC jacket sleeve. Made in Poland.


  1. You're Gonna Miss Me
  2. Through the Rhythm
  3. Roller Coaster
  4. Reverberation (Doubt)
  5. Kingdom of Heaven
  6. I've Got Levitation
  7. She Lives (In a Time of Her Own)
  8. Slip Inside This House
  9. Earthquake
  10. Never Another
  11. Dr Doom
  12. Livin' On
  13. May the Circle Remain Unbroken
0 stars based on 0 reviews