Communards - The Communards (35th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)

C$64.99 C$49.99
UPC: 5060555215187
Availability: IN STOCK

Celebrate the 35th Anniversary of the The Communards' seminal 1985 debut album with this expanded edition featuring B-sides and new sleeve notes. It includes the smash hit singles "Don’t Leave Me This Way"and "You Are My World". The Communards are Bronski Beat's Jimmy Somerville and English musician Richard Coles.

Mixing pop and politics wasn’t exactly a revolutionary act in itself in 1985, but no mainstream chart pop act had ever done so with the fervency, purpose and personal passion as The Communards. From the message laid down in songs such as "Reprise" (acidly dedicated to Margaret Thatcher on release) or Breadline Britain’s condemnation of life under the Conservative government, right down to their stark, tongue in cheek, Soviet-styled artwork. Even the band’s name was taken from a group of 19th century Parisian revolutionaries.

To revisit the duo’s debut record today is a wonderful reminder of just how special and transformative pop music can be. Take "Disenchanted"’s melancholic pulse; the delicate, moonlit flourishes of "La Dolora"; the clear message in their reading of jazz standard "Loverman" and of course, the soaring, evergreen rush of their cover of Gamble and Huff’s "Don’t Leave Me This Way" - which went number one in the UK for six weeks, and became the biggest selling single of 1986. It's still a song that can send joy pulsing through the veins of generations not even born when the pair first stormed the charts.

Heavyweight double vinyl produced by London Recordings in 2021. Gatefold sleeve. UK Import.



1. Don't Leave Me This Way
2. La Dolarosa
3. Disenchanted 6:14 4. Reprise


1. So Cold The Night
2. You Are My World
3. Lover Man
4. Don't Slip Away


1. Heavens Above
2. Forbidden Love
3. Breadline Britain
4. Sanctified


1. Never No More
2. Sentimental Journey
3. When The Walls Come Tumbling Down
4. Judgement Day

0 stars based on 0 reviews