Bruce Springsteen - The Promise (Lost Sessions: Darkness on the Edge of Town)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 886977617713
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

The Promise is collection of unreleased tracks recorded during the sessions for Springsteen's classic 1978 album Darkness On The Edge Of Town. On this release, Springsteen's dark lyricism is in full flow; these songs sound like a fully realized album, and not just a collection of outtakes.

Highlights include the extraordinary rock version of "Racing in the Street", the never-before-released original recordings of "Because the Night". "Fire" and "Rendezvous". The supreme pop opus "Someday (We'll Be Together)", the hilarious "Ain't Good Enough for You", the superb soul-based vocal performance on "The Brokenhearted", the utterly haunting "Breakaway", and the fully orchestrated masterpiece and title song "The Promise".

All 21 songs have been mixed by Springsteen's long-time collaborator Bob Clearmountain. According to long-time manager/producer Jon Landau, "There isn't a weak card in this deck. The Promise is simply a great listening experience."

Heavyweight triple vinyl produced by Columbia Records in 2010.

0 stars based on 0 reviews