Sonny Rollins - Sonny Rollins on Impulse!

UPC: 602577573835
Availability: IN STOCK

Recorded on July 8, 1965, Sonny Rollins on Impulse! features Rollins on tenor saxophone, ably backed by a rhythm section made up of Ray Bryant on piano, Walter Booker on bass, and Mickey Roker on drums.

Sonny Rollins has long been intrigued by the possibilities of exploring and elasticizing popular standards that are seldom confronted by other jazzmen. Witness the five tracks here. What makes his approach to these persistently provocative is his skill at thematic improvisation. The sinuous line, for instance, that he spins out of "Everything Happens To Me" brings an unexpected dimension to the song, both in terms of its shape and its potential range of moods. In this, and the other tracks, another mark of Rollins is his fascination with textures. By bending notes, by gradations in attack, by alterations in phrasing patterns, he draws a remarkable range of subtly shifting colors from his horn.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Impluse! Records for their Vital Vinyl series. Remastered from the original analog sources in 2019.


1. On Green Dolphin Street
2. Everything Happens to Me
3. Hold 'Em Joe 
4. Blue Room 
5. Three Little Words

0 stars based on 0 reviews