Al Green - Call Me (50th Anniversary) [Exclusive Tiger's Eye Colour Vinyl]


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 767981114644
Availability: IN STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

2023 marks the 50th anniversary celebration of Al Green's sixth album, Call Me, widely regarded as a masterpiece and regularly been called one of the best soul albums ever made.

Al Green reached his creative peak with the brilliant Call Me, the most inventive and assured album of his career. So silky and fluid as to sound almost effortless, Green's vocals revel in the lush strings and evocative horns of Willie Mitchell's superbly intimate production, barely rising above an angelic whisper for the gossamer "Have You Been Making Out O.K.."

With barely perceptible changes in mood, Call Me covers remarkable ground, spanning from "Stand Up" - a call to arms delivered with characteristic understatement - to renditions of Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" and Willie Nelson's "Funny How Time Slips Away," both of them exemplary fusions of country and soul. Equally compelling are the album's three Top Ten hits - 'You Ought to Be With Me,' 'Here I Am (Come and Take Me),' and the shimmering title cut. A classic.

Exclusive TIGER'S EYE colour vinyl in celebration of the 50th Anniversary. Produced by Fat Possum in 2023.


1. Call Me (Come Back Home) 3:03
2. Have You Been Making Out O.K. 3:42
3. Stand Up 3:25
4. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry 3:10
5. Your Love Is Like The Morning Sun 3:09
6. Here I Am 4:14
7. Funny How Time Slips Away 5:33
8. You Ought To Be With Me 3:15
9. Jesus Is Waiting

0 stars based on 0 reviews