Hold Steady - Open Door Policy


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 787790454885
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

The Hold Steady recorded Open Door Policy in two different sessions in the back half of 2019. Once again, the band teamed with producer Josh Kaufman and engineer Dan Goodwin, but this time at the Clubhouse studio in upstate NY. Their goal was to create an album that worked as a grand piece, rather than a collection of songs.

While the record was pretty much done by March 2020, the unease of the pandemic was setting in. Over the next months, it became obvious that timing this album's release to specific weekend celebrations wouldn't be a possibility in the near future.

The songs on Open Door Policy are about power, wealth, and mental health the band says. They're about technology, occupation, consumerism, freedom, fandom and escape. And although the album was written and recorded in 2019, the themes of this record seem to be underscored and highlighted by this year of virus and quarantine.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Thirty Tigers in 2021.


1. The Feelers
2. Spices
3. Lanyards
4. Family Farm
5. Unpleasant Breakfast
6. Heavy Covenant
7. The Prior Procedure
8. Riptown
9. Me & Magdalena
10. Hanover Camera

0 stars based on 0 reviews