Ikebe Shakedown - Hard Steppin'


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 659123068512
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Ikebe Shakedown's debut album Hard Steppin' is as heavy as an angry herd of elephants! Recorded at Dunham Studios in Brooklyn with the help of members of The Budos Band, these tracks are rough and tough to be sure and offer a variety of different sounds from the band. Ikebe seamlessly blends the raw emotion and passion of '70s African Funk with the danceable horns and rhythms of American soul music!

Ikebe Shakedown is Brooklyn-based, eight-piece instrumental juggernaut that incorporates the sounds of '60s and '70s African Funk and American Soul Music for a totally fresh sound. Featuring dynamic horns backed by a hard-hitting rhythm section, Ikebe Shakedown (pronounced ee-kay-bay) will get you out of your seat and onto the dance floor! With obvious influences from legendary groups such as The J.B.'s and The Meters, Ikebe Shakedown is also looking to make their own mark on the Brooklyn scene in the vein of more contemporary groups like The Budos Band, Antibalas, and The Menahan Street Band.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Colemine Records in 2016. Lacquers cut at Well Made Music. Pressed at Gotta Groove Records.


1 Hard Steppin'
2 The Prisoner
3 No Answer
4 Afro Fred
5 Up in the Trees
6 Hard Steppin' (Breakbeats)
7 The Prisoner (Breakbeats)
8 No Answer (Breakbeats)
9 Afro Fred (Breakbeats)
10 Up in the Trees (Breakbeats)
0 stars based on 0 reviews