Johnny Cash - American Recordings

UPC: 600753441695
Availability: IN STOCK

In 1994, Johnny Cash stunned the music world with this commanding collection of 13 solo acoustic performances that roll from gospel to cowboy to sarcastic folk. Minimalism had long been Cash's meal ticket, but this time around, producer Rick Rubin stripped it all away, recording the bulk of the record in Cash's cabin or his own living room (two cuts were captured live at the Viper Room in front of an emphatic audience).

On American Recordings, Johnny Cash offers five typically direct and vivid originals, but he also seizes control of songs by Kris Kristofferson, Nick Lowe, Leonard Cohen, Tom Waits, and Loudon Wainwright. Decades after "Hey Porter," Cash delivers a pure, naked, and incredibly moving record that, dare we say, rivals the impact of his greatest achievements.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by American Recordings in 2014.


1. Delia's Gone
2. Let the Train Blow the Whistle
3. The Beast in Me
4. Drive on
5. Why Me Lord
6. Thirteen
7. Oh, Bury Me Not (Introduction: A Cowboy's Prayer)
8. Bird on a Wire
9. Tennessee Stud
10. Down There By the Train
11. Redemption
12. Like a Soldier
13. The Man Who Couldn't Cry

0 stars based on 0 reviews