Pale Jay - Bewilderment (Opaque Red Vinyl)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 674862661534
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Bewilderment - the feeling of being perplexed and confused - is the inspiration behind Pale Jay's new album. It's a soulful exploration of a family's gradual disintegration due to years of avoidance and miscommunication. During this difficult time, Pale Jay began to question the stories he had always lived with and re-examined his identity. The resulting work is his first full-length album, which strives to find answers to these questions and more. 

Pale Jay is a trained jazz vocalist and pianist, and he wrote, recorded, and produced all songs on the album, except for "By The Lake", which is a collaboration with labelmates Okonski - Steve Okonski, Aaron Frazer, and Michael Montgomery. Pale Jay's music is influenced by a wide range of songwriters, including Labi Siffre, Carole King, and William Onyeabor. Bewilderment is a seamless blend of Pale Jay’s trademark dusty soul, slow disco, and Afrobeat, with string arrangements by Raven Bush adding an extra layer of magic to the beat-heavy productions.

Limited Edition OPAQUE RED vinyl produced by Karma Chief under Colemine Records in 2023. Only 1500 copies worldwide.


1. Preface
2. In Your Corner
3. Dreaming In Slow Motion
4. By The Lake
5. Bewilderment
6. My Dirty Desire
7. Vladimir
8. Don't Forget That I Love You

0 stars based on 0 reviews