Drums - Brutalism (Exclusive White Vinyl)

UPC: 45778764983
Availability: OUT OF STOCK

Brutalism is quite possibly the best collection of songs in The Drums’ ten-year career. The album is defined by growth, transformation and questions, but it doesn’t provide all the answers. Brutalism is a form of simplistic architecture defined by blocks of raw concrete. Brutalism is rooted in an emotional rawness but its layers are soft, intricate and warm, full of frivolous and exquisitely crafted pop songs that blast sunlight and high energy in the face of anxiety, solitude and crippling self-doubt. Even the fact that Brutalism sounds intentional, focused and efficient is a symbol of how Jonny Pierce’s prioritizing of his own health and well being has bled into how he makes music.

For the making of this album, between his lake house in Upstate New York and a studio in Stinson Beach, California, Pierce was more open than ever, keeping his control freakery at bay, working with others to produce and record the album. He brought in Chris Coady (Beach House, Future Islands, Amen Dunes) to mix it. If there was a guitar part he wanted to write but couldn’t play, he brought in a guitarist. It’s also the first Drums record with a live drummer. Delegating freed up Pierce’s time to produce a more specific vision.

The record features the singles "Body Chemistry" and "626 Bedford Avenue".

Exclusive vinyl produced by ANTI Records in 2019. This vinyl edition includes one bonus track "Try".


A1 Pretty Cloud  
A2 Body Chemistry  
A3 626 Bedford Avenue  
A4 Brutalism  
A5 Loner  
B1 I Wanna Go Back  
B2 Kiss It Away  
B3 Nervous  
B4 Blip Of Joy  
B5 Try
0 stars based on 0 reviews