Pogues - Rum, Sodomy & The Lash

UPC: 825646255894
Availability: OUT OF STOCK

In his opening essay for the reissue of The Pogues’ acclaimed 1984 debut album Red Roses For Me, filmmaker Jim Jarmusch calls them, “'definitely one of the most soulful rock bands Britain has ever produced',” adding, “'But The Pogues aren’t just a punk band, or a soul group, or an “Irish” band rooted in a folk tradition. They’'re all those things and a hell of a lot more.' ”Formed in 1982 in King’s Cross in north London, they called themselves Pogue Mahone when they first started out, an anglification of a Gaelic phrase meaning “kiss my arse.”

Fronted by the poetic spirit and raging, often besotted stage antics of lead singer-songwriter Shane MacGowan, The Pogues made unforgettable music that terms such as “Celtic punk” or “trad-fusion” or “progressive folk” indeed only begin to describe.

The Pogues returned in 1985 with their sophomore album, Rum, Sodomy & The Lash. This brilliant record was produced by Elvis Costello. Highlights include “"The Sick Bed Of Cuchulainn",” “"I'’m A Man You Don'’t Meet Every Day", their definitive take on “"The Band Played Waltzing Matilda",” and the stunning "“A Pair Of Brown Eyes",” presenting MacGowan’s lyrics and vocals in all their “dilapidated glory”.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Rhino Records in 2015. Remastered from the original analog tapes.



1. The Sick Bed of Cuchulainn
2. The Old Main Drag
3. Wild Cats of Kilkenny
4. I'm A Man You Don't Meet Every Day
5. A Pair of Brown Eyes
6. Sally MacLennane 


1. Dirty Old Town
2. Jesse James
3. Navigator
4. Billy's Bones
5. The Gentleman Soldier
6. And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda

0 stars based on 0 reviews