Various - O Brother Where Art Thou? (Music From) [Blue Vinyl]


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 602567952091
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

O Brother, Where Art Thou? is the acclaimed soundtrack to the 2000 Coen Brothers film starring George Clooney, John Turturro, Tim Blake Nelson, and John Goodman. The album features Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch, Alison Krauss and bluegrass legend Ralph Stanley, performing a host of traditional songs augmented by archival recordings.

Nearly every scene in O Brother is set to a period song, and the music frequently drives and defines the action. These recordings, which were made without the meddling clarity of digital technology, give the film much of its power and authenticity. The single "I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow" by The Soggy Bottom Boys, was a instant stand out, helping propel the soundtrack to the top of the Billboard charts.

With the film set in Mississippi during the Great Depression, the soundtrack, produced by T-Bone Burnett, uses bluegrass, country, gospel, blues, and folk music appropriate to the time period. With the exception of a few vintage tracks (such as Harry McClintock's 1928 single "Big Rock Candy Mountain"), most tracks are modern recordings. It has become one of the top ten best-selling soundtracks of all time, winning three Grammy Awards including 'Album of the Year' in 2002.

Limited Edition heavyweight BLUE double vinyl produced by Mercury Records in 2019. Gatefold sleeve.

0 stars based on 0 reviews