Art Pepper - So In Love (2023 Remaster)

UPC: 810075111019
Availability: OUT OF STOCK

Producer John Snyder had always wanted to record Art Pepper and booked him into a week at the Village Vanguard in New York. At the time, Pepper was under contract to Contemporary Records and label head, Les Koenig, decided he would record the gigs, quashing any notion Snyder had of doing the same. However, Art promised Snyder that he'd record an album for Snyder's label, Artists House, at some point down the road. Together they wound up making four.

So In Love (originally issued in 1980) features Pepper's takes on classics from Thelonious Monk, Cole Porter, and Hoagy Carmichael, plus a pair of originals including "Blues for Blanche." The AllMusic review by Scott Yanow noted: "Pepper is in excellent form throughout the album, giving these songs heart-wrenching interpretations".

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Omnivore Recordings in 2023.


  1. Straight, No Chaser (Take 3)
  2. Blues For Blanche
  3. So In Love
  4. Diane
  5. Stardust
0 stars based on 0 reviews