Belle and Sebastian - If You're Feeling Sinister (Vinyl)

UPC: 744861029687
Availability: OUT OF STOCK

If You're Feeling Sinister, the second album by Scottish indie pop band Belle and Sebastian is also their breakout. Released in 1996 to critical success, the band's leader, Stuart Murdoch has stated the album is probably his best collection of songs.

After the release of their debut album Tigermilk, Belle and Sebastian were approached by a number of record labels. They signed with the independent label Jeepster Records in the interests of staying independent creatively. Jeepster was willing to accept some of the group's other demands, such as releasing no singles, not doing press or promotional events, and not appearing in promotional materials.

The band began releasing the new material, written by Murdoch, after signing with Jeepster. The album took five days to record and three to mix, slightly longer than Tigermilk. It was recorded in the same studio as Tigermilk and engineer Tony Doogan worked with the band's previous engineer to maintain a similar recording style. Band member Sarah Martin, who had recently joined the band at this point, likened Tigermilk and If You're Feeling Sinister to The Beatles' albums Rubber Soul and Revolver in the sense that the two albums were recorded quickly after one another.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Matador Records. Includes full lyrics.


A1 The Stars Of Track And Field  
A2 Seeing Other People  
A3 Me And The Major  
A4 Like Dylan In The Movies  
A5 The Fox In The Snow  
B1 Get Me Away From Here, I'm Dying  
B2 If You're Feeling Sinister  
B3 Mayfly  
B4 The Boy Done Wrong Again  
B5 Judy And The Dream Of Horses
0 stars based on 0 reviews