Chet Baker / Art Pepper / Phil Urso - Picture Of Heath (Blue Note Tone Poet)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 602435926681
Availability: IN STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Having teamed up on two prior Pacific Jazz recordings, trumpeter Chet Baker & alto saxophonist Art Pepper continued their fruitful collaboration with the supremely swinging 1956 album Picture of Heath (which was originally released as Playboys until Hugh Hefner objected). The sextet for the session was brimming with top talent from the West Coast Jazz scene including tenor saxophonist Phil Urso, pianist Carl Perkins, bassist Curtis Counce, and drummer Larance Marable. 

A notable feature of the date was its focus on the compositions of saxophonist Jimmy Heath who penned five of the album’s tracks: “Picture of Heath,” “For Miles and Miles,” “C.T.A.,” “For Minors Only,” and “Resonant Emotions.” The set is rounded out by two of Pepper’s tunes—“Minor-Yours” and “Tynan Tyme”—and the playing throughout is unfailingly vibrant with exquisite solos and lively band interplay all of which which makes this a quintessential cool jazz date.

This mono Blue Note Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on heavyweight vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe tip-on jacket.


A1: For Minors Only

A2: Minor-Yours

A3: Resonant Emotions

A4: Tynan Tyme


B1: Picture Of Heath

B2: For Miles And Miles

B3: C.T.A.

0 stars based on 0 reviews