Dusty Springfield - The Silver Collection


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 602557071337
Availability: IN STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

The Silver Collection is a selection of twenty-four Dusty Springfield tracks recorded between 1963 and 1970 when she ranked as one of the most successful female vocalists on both sides of the Atlantic. It contains all ten of her UK top ten singles from the 1960s, including her biggest smash "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me" from 1966, as well as "Son of a Preacher Man," from 1969's critically esteemed Dusty in Memphis; her first single, ("I Only Want to be With You"); and "Brand New Me," from 1970. The recordings here are not grouped chronologically, giving the set a kind of untrackable feel, but on repeated listening, make perfect sense. There are the Bacharach/David songs written especially for her such as "Wishin' and Hopin,'" "24 Hours From Tulsa," "I Just Don't Know What to Do With Myself," and, of course, "The Look of Love" from 1967, as well Randy Newman's "Just One Smile." The Goffin/King singles, "Goin' Back" and "Some of Your Lovin'" are also here. The collection is a wonderful portrait of Dusty's diversity as a pop singer and swinging 60's icon, and a testament to the enduring popularity of her classic vocal style.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Mercury in 2017. Gatefold sleeve.


1. I Only Want To Be With You
2. Stay Awhile
3. I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself|
4. Wishin' and Hopin'
5. Losing You
6. Give Me Time
7. 24 Hours From Tulsa
8. If You Go Away
9. Just One Smile
10. Son of a Preacher Man
11. All I See Is You
12. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me
13. I Close My Eyes and Count To Ten
14. Some Of Your Lovin'
15. In The Middle Of Nowhere
16. Little By Little
17. How Can I Be Sure
18. The Look of Love
19. My Colouring Book
20. A Brand New Me
21. I'll Try Anything
22. Goin' Back

0 stars based on 0 reviews