Aretha Franklin - The Atlantic Singles Collection 1967-1970


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 603497858040
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

This singles collection includes many of the Queen Of Soul's greatest songs and underscores her legacy as one of music's most important and influential artists. Aretha Franklin was a trailblazer for popular music and this two record set is the ultimate representation of just how successful she was.

This album is stacked with many of Franklin's best-known songs, including "I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)", "Respect", "Baby I Love You", "Chain Of Fools", "(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone", "Think", "Share Your Love With Me", "Call Me" and "Don't Play That Song."

When Aretha Franklin joined Atlantic Records in 1967, it was the beginning of an unprecedented run that would ultimately cement her place as a music legend, a global household name, and one of the most influential singers of all time. Within the space of just three years, her name was almost never out of U.S Top 20 Charts, garnering nine gold singles, three gold albums, as well as three Grammy® Awards and her first string of international hits.

Arranged chronologically, the songs on the new collection originally appeared on six studio albums: I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You (1967), Aretha Arrives (1967), Lady Soul(1968), Aretha Now (1968), Soul '69 (1969), This Girl's In Love With You (1970), and Spirits In The Dark (1970). The only exception is Franklin's cover of Elton John's "Border Song," which was released as a single in 1970 and later appeared on her 1972 album Young, Gifted and Black.

Heavyweight double vinyl produced by Atlantic Records in 2019. Gatefold sleeve.

0 stars based on 0 reviews