Leslie Odom Jr. - Simply Christmas

UPC: 190296938641
Availability: IN STOCK

'Simply Christmas' is the 2016 first Christmas album by Broadway Hamilton's Leslie Odom Jr.. It features jazz interpretations of Christmas standards. Arranged mainly for piano throughout, with bass, drums, acoustic guitar, and rare keyboards and trombone, it's got small dinner parties and nostalgic winter evenings in front of the fireplace in mind.

He and his accompaniment manage to make moving renditions of overplayed tunes such as "The First Noel." They do so with restrained performances that showcase the singer's interpretive ability, which honors a consistently wistful tone over grandstanding. Even knowledgeable jazz audiences needn't wince at seeing "My Favorite Things" on the track list; Odom's refined take on the oft-covered show tune-turned-jazz standard features a piano solo by Tommy King that's the most vibrant moment in a rendition that simmers with longing. Later, a light touch by vocals, bass, and acoustic guitar makes for an equally poignant version of the Carpenters' "Merry Christmas Darling".

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Curve Records in 2017. Includes download card featuring the deluxe edition of the album, with four additional songs.


A1   Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
A2   The First Noel
A3   My Favorite Things
A4   I'll Be Home For Christmas
B1   The Christmas Song
B2   Merry Christmas Darling
B3   Winter Song
B4   Ave Maria
0 stars based on 0 reviews