Oliver Nelson - The Blues and The Abstract Truth (Acoustic Sounds Series)

UPC: 602435669144
Availability: In stock (2)
Delivery time: 2 to 5 business days

Originally released in 1961, The Blues and The Abstract Truth is Oliver Nelson's triumph as a musician, assembling one of the most potent modern jazz sextets ever: Bill Evans on piano, Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, Paul Chambers on bass, Roy Haynes on drums, and Eric Dolphy on flute and alto sax. The music is infectious and makes the listener sit up and pay attention.

As Oliver Nelson is known primarily as a big band leader and arranger, he is lesser known as a saxophonist and organizer of small ensembles. Lead trumpeter Freddie Hubbard is at his peak of performance, while alto saxophonists Nelson and Eric Dolphy (Nelson doubling on tenor) team to for an unlikely union that was simmered to perfection. Bill Evans (piano), Paul Chambers (bass) and Roy Haynes (drums) can do no wrong as a rhythm section.

The Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series, seeks to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded. Utilizing the skills of the top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings, all titles will be mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on heavyweight vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality tip-on gatefold jackets. The releases are being supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world’s largest source for audiophile recordings.



  1. Stolen Moments
  2. Hoe-Down
  3. Cascades


  1. Yearnin'
  2. Butch And Butch
  3. Teenie's Blues
0 stars based on 0 reviews