Otis Redding - The Best of Otis Redding (2020 Mono Remaster)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 603497847037
Availability: IN STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Had his short life not been snuffed out by a plane crash (the curse of many a budding legends from Buddy Holly to Skynyrd), Otis Redding would have emerged as the Memphis based STAX label's biggest superstar. His reflective anthem "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay" topped the charts posthumously after Booker T & The MGs guitarist Steve Cropper completed it. Otis Redding's work was stuffed with sanctified classics, from sweat-soaked showstoppers "Mr. Pitiful" and "Can't Turn You Loose", to the heart-strangling pleas "These Arms Of Mine" and "I've Been Loving You Too Long".

Dozens of admirers tackled his smokin' soul catalogue, most notably, Aretha Franklin's "sock it to me" take on "Respect", but also The Blues Brothers, The Black Crowns, Robert Cray, Taj Mahal, and Three Dog Night. Otis' heat-sinking interpretations of The Rolling Stones "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction", and Sam Cooke's booty-bumper "Shake" proved he could belt 'em as effortlessly as he wrote 'em. This much needed vinyl release of this timeless sixteen track sampler The Best of Otis Redding stands tall as a tantalizing tribute to one of the sixties' towering talents.

Heavyweight audiophile vinyl produced by Rhino Records in 2023. Remastered in mono from the original analog tapes by Dan Hersch & Bill Inglot at d2 Mastering. Lacquer cut by Bernie Grundman at Bernie Grundman Mastering. Cover painting by Nikkolas Smith (based on photo courtesy of The Estate of Otis Redding). Extensive liner notes by Memphis journalist Andria Lisle.


  1. These Arms Of Mine
  2. Pain In My Heart
  3. Stand By Me
  4. Mr. Pitiful
  5. That's How Strong My Love Is
  6. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
  7. Respect
  8. My Girl
  9. I Can't Turn You Loose
  10. Satisfaction
  11. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa (Sad Song)
  12. Try A Little Tenderness
  13. Shake
  14. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
  15. Hard To Handle
  16. I've Got Dreams To Remember
0 stars based on 0 reviews