David Bowie - Earthling (2021 Remaster)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 190295253349
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

On September 11, 1996, a brand-new Bowie track, "Telling Lies", would become the first-ever song to be offered for download via the Internet. Despite the crawling speed rates of the nascent online era, "Telling Lies" was downloaded by more than 300,000 fans prior to being released as a single that fall, and eventually showing up on Bowie's next album, Earthling, early in 1997.

Earthling dropped in February 1997, its striking cover art featuring Bowie in an Alexander McQueen-designed Union Jack coat surreally (mis?)placed in a British pastoral setting - a fitting visual expression of the album's jarring juxtaposition of classic Bowie melodies with post-apocalyptic industrial and drum-and-bass textures.

His first self-produced album since Diamond Dogs, Earthling featured Bowie's core touring band of Gail Ann Dorsey (bass, vocals), Mike Garson (keyboards), Reeves Gabrels (guitar, synths), and Zachary Alford (drums). Highlights included the stirring and reflective "Dead Man Walking" and the infectious sardonic humour of "I'm Afraid of Americans", co-written with Eno and accompanied by a spontaneous Dom & Nic video that found Trent Reznor (who plays on the V1 single version of the song) chasing David through the streets of New York's Greenwich Village. The Earthling world tour followed, spanning from May 1997 through its October/November 1997 South American stadium run.

Heavyweight double vinyl produced by Parlophone Records in 2022. Remastered by John Webber at Air Mastering in 2021. Pressed at Optimal Media. Gatefold sleeve. Side D feature unique etching. Made in Germany.


  1. Little Wonder
  2. Looking for Satellites
  3. Battle for Britain (The Letter)
  4. Seven Years in Tibet
  5. Dead Man Walking
  6. Telling Lies
  7. The Last Thing You Should Do
  8. I'm Afraid of Americans
  9. Law (Earthlings on Fire)
0 stars based on 0 reviews