David Bowie - 1. Outside (The Nathan Adler Diaries: A Hyper Cycle) [2021 Remaster]


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 190295253370
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

By 1994, David Bowie and Brian Eno were again collaborating in the studio. The result was the concept album Outside, released in 1995 as the first instalment of a new deal with Virgin Records. The complex project explored the increasing obsession with the mutilation of the human body as art and the paganization of western society. With cut-and-paste lyrics drawing from the diary of fictional character Nathan Adler, a haunted sound of ruin soundtracking a non-linear storyline of art, murder and technology, Outside predated a new darker sensibility that would pervade not only music, but film, literature and the arts in general in the very near future.

Appropriately, the album's first single, "The Hearts Filthy Lesson," showed up in the soundtrack of one of the darkest films to cross over into the mainstream of that year in David Fincher's Seven - while two years later, edits of deep cut "I'm Deranged" would bookend David Lynch's Lost Highway as both opening title and end credits music.

Heavyweight double vinyl produced by Parlophone Records in 2022. Remastered by John Webber at Air Mastering in 2021. Pressed at Optimal Media. Gatefold sleeve. Made in Germany.



  1. Leon Takes Us Outside
  2. Outside
  3. The Hearts Filthy Lesson
  4. A Small Plot of Land
  5. Segue - Baby Grace (A Horrid Cassette)
  6. Hallo Spaceboy
  7. The Motel
  8. I Have Not Been to Oxford Town


  1. No Control
  2. Segue - Algeria Touchschriek
  3. The Voyeur of Utter Destruction (As Beauty)
  4. Segue - Ramona A. Stone / I Am with Name
  5. Wishful Beginnings
  6. We Prick You
  7. Segue - Nathan Adler Pt. 1
  8. I'm Deranged
  9. Thru' These Architects Eyes
  10. Segue - Nathan Adler Pt. 2
  11. Strangers When We Meet
0 stars based on 0 reviews