Hiss Golden Messenger - Terms Of Surrender


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 673855067513
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Hiss Golden Messenger's music is at once familiar, and hard to categorize -the steady, churning acoustic guitar and mandolin, the gospel emotion, the eerie steel guitar tracings, the bobbing and weaving organ and electric piano- all provide the bedrock for bandleader M.C. Taylor's existential ruminations about parenthood, hope, loneliness and our delicate, tightrope walk of dark and light. And then there's an indescribable spirit and movement: Hiss Golden Messenger's music grooves. Taylor says that he wanted to make 'Terms of Surrender' "a wandering record. I wanted where we recorded it to mirror the searching spirit of the music." Having written upwards of 40 songs-in motel rooms, his studio in North Carolina, and a secluded cottage outside of Virginia, Taylor and crew managed to make ten works that comprise the most fully realized and genre-defying Hiss Golden Messenger album to date. Featuring Phil and Brad Cook, Josh Kaufman, Matt McCaughan, Rilo Kiley's Jenny Lewis and The National's Aaron Dessner. 

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Merge Records. Gatefold sleeve, with download.



1 I Need a Teacher
2 Bright Direction (You're a Dark Star Now)
3 My Wing
4 Old Enough to Wonder Why (East Side-West Side)
5 Cat's Eye Blue
6 Happy Birthday, Baby
7 Down at the Uptown
8 Katy (You Don't Have to Be Good Yet)
9 Whip
10 Terms of Surrender
0 stars based on 0 reviews