Spiritualized - Everything Was Beautiful (Exclusive Pink Vinyl)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 767981171647
Availability: IN STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Spiritualized return with their new album Everything Was Beautiful.The band's ninth studio album comes 30 years after the 1992 debut album Lazer Guided Melodies, and is the follow up to 2018's And Nothing Hurt. The new record features the singles "Always Together With You", "Crazy" and "The Mainline Song".

During lockdown of 2020, J Spaceman (aka Jason Pierce) would walk through an empty "Roman London" where the world was "full of birdsong and strangeness," trying to make sense of all the music playing in his head at the time. The mixers and mixes of his new record weren't working out yet. Spaceman plays 16 different instruments on Everything Was Beautiful which was put down at 11 different studios, as well as at his home.

He also employed more than 30 musicians and singers including his daughter Poppy, long-time collaborator and friend John Coxon, string and brass sections, choirs and finger bells and chimes from the Whitechapel Bell Foundry. Eventually the mixes got there and Everything Was Beautiful was achieved.

The result is some of the most "live" sounding recordings that Spiritualized have released since the Live At The Albert Hall record of 1998, around the time of Ladies And Gentlemen, We Are Floating In Space.

All these layers, all these details, the year-long mixes, the making sense of it all and the lives lived within these lyrics; for somebody so famously unconfident of his own abilities, isn't this a punishing thing to keep doing? "Yeah, but I like what I do," explains Spaceman. "There's a line from Jonathan Meades that's about having all the attributes to being an artist. 'Paranoia, vanity, selfishness, egotism, sycophancy, resentment, moral nullity and more idiot than idiot savant.' And that's what it feels like, this kind of thing. You're your own worst enemy and biggest supporter. There's a 'Of course this is worth it. It's me' and then this kind of deep doubt of 'What the fuck is this all about?' And then 'Why is it important?' and then knowing there's no easy answer. But it's there. I know it's there."

Exclusive PINK vinyl produced by Fat Possum Records in 2022.


  1. Always Together With You
  2. Best Thing You Never Had (The D Song)
  3. Let It Bleed (For Iggy)
  4. Crazy
  5. The Mainline Song
  6. The A Song (Laid In Your Arms)
  7. I'm Coming Home Again
0 stars based on 0 reviews