Bill Evans - At Town Hall: Volume One (Acoustic Sounds Series)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 602438075690
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Of pianist Bill Evans' many live albums, At Town Hall ... Vol. 1 has always been among his most delicate and elegant, writes Marc Myers for JazzWax.

Despite playing New York club dates for 10 years, the Town Hall recording on February 21, 1966 was Evans' first New York concert appearance. Evans played the first half of the Town Hall concert with just bassist Chuck Israels and drummer Arnie Wise, and the second half with an orchestra. The orchestra performed four Al Cohn-arranged tunes: "Willow Weep for Me" and "What Kind of Fool Am I" as well as Evans' originals "Funkallero" and "Waltz for Debby."

Heavyweight vinyl produced by UMG in 2022. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets.


Side One:

  1. I Should Care
  2. Spring Is Here
  3. Who Can I Turn To

Side Two:

  1. Make Someone Happy
  2. Solo - In Memory of His Father, Harry L. Evans, 1891-1966 > Prologue > Improvisation on Two Themes: Story Line - Turn Out The Stars > Epilogue
0 stars based on 0 reviews