Dry Cleaning - New Long Leg


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 191400025417
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

New Long Leg is the debut album from Dry Cleaning, the South London group of Nick Buxton (drums), Tom Dowse (guitar), Lewis Maynard (bass) and Florence Shaw (vocals). It features the singles "Scratchcard Lanyard", "Strong Feelings" and "Unsmart Lady". It was named 2021's 'Album of the Year' by numerous trade publications.

These 10 tracks long-were recorded over two weeks last summer at Rockfield Studios in rural Wales with producer John Parish (PJ Harvey, Aldous Harding).

Following on from their thrillingly taut 2019 EPs Boundary Road Snacks And Drinks" and Sweet Princess, New Long Leg is more ambitious and complex, with Shaw's spoken vocals tightly intertwined with the band's restless instrumentals.

Dry Cleaning was formed by friends Tom Dowse, Nick Buxton and Lewis Maynard after a karaoke party in 2017 inspired a collaboration. They wrote instrumentally to begin with until six months later Florence Shaw, a visual artist, university lecturer and picture researcher by day - with no prior musical experience - turned up to a band rehearsal armed with reams of her own collected writing and a copy of Michael Bernard Loggins' "Fears Of Your Life" to read out over the music. Before long she was the group's front-person, contributing words of her own, and serving as the perfect foil to the band's music.

Heavyweight vinyl produced by 4AD in 2021.


Side A

01. Scratchcard Lanyard
02. Unsmart Lady
03. Strong Feelings
04. Leafy
05. Her Hippo

Side B

01. New Long Leg
. John Wick
03. More Big Birds
04. A.L.C.
05. Every Day Carry

0 stars based on 0 reviews