Duke Ellington / John Coltrane - Duke Ellington & John Coltrane (Acoustic Sounds Series)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 602438089062
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

The classic 1963 album Duke Ellington & John Coltrane introduces the rising jazz saxophone innovator John Coltrane performing with the long-established piano institution Duke Ellington. Highlights include the tracks "In A Sentimental Mood" and "My Little Brown Book".

Recorded on September 26, 1962 and released in February 1963 on Impulse! Records, Duke Ellington & John Coltrane was one of Ellington's many collaborations in the early 1960s, and placed him with a quartet rather than a big band. Coltrane's laid back, leisurely approach is reminiscent of Johnny Hodges.

Duke Ellington's influence on jazz musicians was profound and extensive. It's no wonder that many believe Coltrane fell under his spell during the making of this record, and that the evolution of Coltrane's music was influenced by this meeting. "I was really honored to have the opportunity of working with Duke," said Coltrane. "It was a wonderful experience. He has set standards I haven't caught up with yet. I would have liked to have worked over all those numbers again, but then I guess the performances wouldn't have had the same spontaneity. And they mightn't have been any better!"

The Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series, seeks to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded. Utilizing the skills of the top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings, all titles will be mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on heavyweight vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality tip-on gatefold jackets. The releases are being supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world’s largest source for audiophile recordings.



  1. In A Sentimental Mood
  2. Take The Coltrane
  3. Big Nick
  4. Stevie


  1. My Little Brown Book
  2. Angelica
  3. The Feeling Of Jazz
0 stars based on 0 reviews