Duke Ellington - Meets Coleman Hawkins (Acoustic Sounds Series)


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 602438075959
Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Even though Duke Ellington and Coleman Hawkins had both been well-known jazzmen since the early 1920s, it wasn't until 1962 (at least 20 years after Ellington first suggested it) is moment these two recorded their only session together. High points include an exuberant "The Jeep Is Jumpin'", an interesting remake of "Mood Indigo" and a few new Ellington pieces.

Collaborative albums such Duke Ellington Meets Coleman Hawkins have always been something of a stunt on the part of the record label, with the artists themselves usually stuck with too little time to work out something that would easily act as a functional compromise. Many of these albums, then, have faded away with time. Impulse, however, had more than its share of solid collaborations. This one is a lot of fun, whether it's the daffy cut-up of "Limbo Jazz" or the slow New Orleans smoke of "Wanderlust." All present turn in nice performances on this set of Ellington numbers.

The Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series, seeks to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded. Utilizing the skills of the top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings, all titles will be mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on heavyweight vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality tip-on gatefold jackets. The releases are being supervised by Chad Kassem, CEO of Acoustic Sounds, the world’s largest source for audiophile recordings.


A1. Limbo Jazz 
A2. Mood Indigo
A3. Ray Charles' Place 
A4. Wanderlust  
B1. You Dirty Dog 
B2. Self Portrait (Of The Bean) 
B3. The Jeep Is Jumpin' 
B4. The Ricitic 

0 stars based on 0 reviews