Jamie XX / Gil Scott-Heron - We're New Here


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 634904051716
Availability: IN STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

So what happens when one of the most exciting young producers around reworks one of the most acclaimed albums from a true legend? The result is Gil Scott-Heron and Jamie xx's We're New Here, which sees Jamie xx re-imagining 13 tracks from the original I'm New Here album sessions.

In February 2010, Gil Scott-Heron released I'm New Here, his first album in sixteen years. At the same time Jamie xx and his band The xx's self titled debut album was receiving huge acclaim, picking up 2010's prestigious Mercury Music Prize. In the process, Jamie was also garnering mad respect for his remixes (in particular of Florence & The Machine's 'You've Got The Love' and Adele's "Rolling In The Deep") as well as solo productions (single 'Far Nearer' on Numbers).

While the original album I'm New Here put Heron's ragged baritone front and centre, We're New Here submerges his bluesy confessionals in versatile, dance-inspired tempos, threading his sometimes painful reveries through soulful electro rhythms. Throughout, Scott's old-soul narratives are reborn through Jamie's atmospheric beats.

The album was promoted using the singles "NY Is Killing Me" and "I'll Take Care of U".

Heavyweight vinyl produced by XL Recordings in 2011. Includes download card.

0 stars based on 0 reviews