Isaac Hayes - Black Moses


In-Store Pick Up

Availability: OUT OF STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Released in 1971, ‘Black Moses’ was Isaac Hayes’ fifth album to be released in a little over two years, and is arguably his crowning achievement. The multi-instrumental singer/songwriter and producer had been a central figure in the Memphis soul music revolution of the mid-'60s. Along with Booker T. & the MG's, Hayes wrote and performed on more Stax sides than any other single artist. 

Black Moses was recorded between March and October 1971, in the middle of the period when Hayes recorded the Shaft soundtrack. Black Moses, like most of the music on Hayes’ first three solo albums, is made up of cover versions, among them Side One, Track Two, the monumental rendition of Burt Bacharachand Hal David’s “(They Long to Be) Close To You.” The song had been Carpenters’ first No. 1 record a year or so before, and, in typical Ike fashion, he takes it and turns it on its head.

Heavyweight double vinyl produced by Back To Black in 2017 for Concord Music Group. This version is not gatefold sleeve. Lacquers cut at Well Made Music.


A1   Never Can Say Goodbye  
A2   (They Long To Be) Close To You  
A3   Nothing Takes The Place Of You  
A4   Man’s Temptation  
B1   Never Gonna Give You (Never Gonna Give You Up)  
B2a   Ike’s Rap II  
B2b   Help Me Love  
B3   Need To Belong To Someone  
B4   Good Love  
C1a   Ike’s Rap III  
C1b   Your Love Is So Doggone Good  
C2   For The Good Times  
C3   I’ll Never Fall In Love Again  
D1   Part Time Love  
D2a   Ike’s Rap IV  
D2b   A Brand New Me  
D3   Going In Circles
0 stars based on 0 reviews