Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong - Ella & Louis


In-Store Pick Up

UPC: 600753458860
Availability: IN STOCK
In-Store Pick Up: Check availability

Louis Armstrong & Ella Fitzgerald, along with the Oscar Peterson Trio, recorded this jazz gem of an album in 1956 for Verve Records in Los Angeles.

The evening before recording this album, on 16 August 1956, both Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald appeared in an all-star concert that also featured Art Tatum and Oscar Peterson, which was recorded for an album entitled Live At The Hollywood Bowl. The following day, the two singers, along with the Oscar Peterson Trio – Oscar on piano, with Herb Ellis (guitar), Ray Brown (bass) and Buddy Rich (drums) – were in a Los Angeles studio to record this gem of an album, which became Ella And Louis.

With no time for rehearsals, the songs were all set in each singer's key to make it easier, but this in no way affects the seamless brilliance of the performances. The warmth of their Ella and Louis' vocals is a joy to behold, as you can hear on 'Cheek To Cheek', 'Moonlight In Vermont' and 'The Nearness Of You"

Heavyweight vinyl produced by Verve Records in 2013. Mastered at Abbey Road Studios. Pressed at Optimal Media in Germany.


1. Can't We Be Friends
2. Isn't This A Lovely Day
3. Moonlight in Vermont
4. They Can't Take That Away From Me
5. Under a Blanket of Blue
6. Tenderly
7. A Foggy Day
8. Stars Fell on Alabama
9. Cheek to Cheek
10. The Nearness of You
11. April in Paris

0 stars based on 0 reviews